The Editing Process: Day Five

On the final day of the editing process for my short film I made the finishing touches to the production to ensure I was as satisfied as I could be with what I had. When watching what I had already created back to myself I thought that I needed to add something in to try and portray the protagonist’s thoughts and feelings about the events occurring throughout the storyline. I had the idea to try and show some of the reasons to why she maybe didn’t want anyone finding out about her sexuality which would be along the lines of her not feeling accepted by those close to her, being judged and feeling like people wouldn’t want to be around her anymore once they found out. Therefore I decided to record some voiceovers of a people saying hurtful thoughts about homosexual  people such as “nobody’s going to want to be her friend” and “your family won’t except you” – by doing this it will hopefully create more emotion around the theme of cyberbullying and the way some people in society treat homosexual people thus making the audience able to connect more with the protagonist of the story.

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 19.10.38

The final adjustments that I made when editing was the music and some of the overlay effects that I thought about adding to some of the shots of the protagonist crying. I added the ‘trails‘ effect to some of the shots of the protagonist crying as I thought it worked well and helped to emphasise confusion that she felt in her head. As well as doing this I went through every shot and made sure I was happy with the filters that were on them. I decided previously that I wanted to add filters to all of the shots to change the tones of the scenes because I did not like the way some of the colours looked in a lot of my shots so to fix this I used an ‘mLut‘ plugin from offline to correct a lot of the colour which made my production look more professional and cinematic. As I said in a previous editing post, I did decide to use the more cool toned filter on the shots where my protagonist encounters sad feelings and where she feels happy I chose to use the warmer toned filter to highlight this idea.

When it came to making the finishing touches on the music, all I needed to do was make sure that the audio levels and the score levels matched well with each other. Firstly I decided that I needed to lower the score levels where there was dialogue present as I didn’t want to score overpowering the dialogue and the audience being unable to hear it but where there was no dialogue I made the score slightly louder so it seemed more dramatic but could still here the diegetic sound that was present in the scene.

 

 

Leave a comment